Asking for a help with creating a collector which will take information from text file

Hello everyone!

I was wondering if there’s anyone willing to help me (or guide me through) with a following idea/problem:

I’ve got a Wireguard docker container working on my server, with multiple users (peers) logging into VPN server.
I have an output (wg show) using which I can see the total traffic consumption of every peer. Every time I’m entering “wg show” the number increases.

I need to grab/parse the information from this output about each peer and put it into monitoring system to see how much traffic each peer consumes.

Unfortunately, I’m not a coder/developer by any means and the most I managed to do is to generate a .txt file with the output of that command. I might be able to parse the required data in some kind of dictionary { peer : traffic_consumption } using Python, but that’s my maximum level of programming languages.
I tried to figure out if this is possible to do with any existing collectors, but got no luck.

If there’s someone who has any idea on how to do this, I’d appreciate any help!

Thank you.

I think this guide will help you: Develop a custom data collector in Python | Learn Netdata

Thanks for your reply.
It will take me a significant time to dive into this guide and manage it (Which I don’t mind doing at all), but can you tell me from the top of your head if it’s even possible to collect the “numbers” (the bandwidth used each, say, minute) and build a graph out of it, using that guide?
It’s incredibly difficult to understand whether it’s even possible to be done when you’ve got no experience in it.
Thanks.

Yes, it is possible.

1 Like

The best way to accomplish this with limited programming knowledge is to find an existing python collector that does almost exactly the same thing for a different command. I wouldn’t bother with the .txt file to be honest, it’s just one more step that could go wrong.