How to Monitor with Netdata. A crash course for Absolute Beginners

How to monitor with Netdata, for absolute beginners

Netdata offers a wealth of metrics and alerts out-of-the-box, enabling the user to get an in-depth understanding of their system without having to set up anything at all.

From the beginning, we wanted to create a tool that everyone can use. A robust monitoring solution that is easy enough for all users that need to understand why their system is misbehaving.

Fast forward a couple of years, and we are proud of a solution that is not only very wide but also very performant.

That being said, we know that it can be daunting at times, due to a large number of available metrics. It hasn’t had to be that way though.

Let’s see what insights we can get about our systems without having to dig into hundreds of charts. This work could not have been done without the help of our Senior DevOps engineer @Austin_Hemmelgarn :fist::rocket:

Remember

We will be looking into a limited number of charts. Netdata has more than 200 integrations and we are proud of our coverage.

Learn more about our integrations

System Overview Section

This is the most obvious of the charts. it’s a great overview of our system and we should start troubleshooting only if:

1. We observe performance issues
  2. System overview shows abnormal metrics.

A Note on the ordinary
In this guide, we will often mention the following phrase “metrics out of the ordinary”. This notion is very important.

In order to truly understand the metrics of your system (and subsequently set the optimal values for the default alerts), you need to monitor you system under normal load/condition over a prolonged amount of time (e.g say a week).

CPU charts

IOwait

It’s the time that the CPU waits for an IO operation to complete. It could be running other things, but it doesn’t.

How do I read this?