Questions about Reachability notifications and logging to disk

I am new to using Netdata. At the moment I only have it installed on a Raspberry Pi, after stumbling across a guide on installing it. I plan to learn more about it before installing it on cloud instances.

Are there continuous writes to the SD card from Netdata running on the RasPi, or is all data sent to the cloud?

If there are constant writes being made to the SD card, I would like to reduce this as much as possible or have the logging done in RAM and written to disk (SD card) occasionally (using something like log2ram).

Also, I keep in getting reachability notification, saying that the connection is lost and then a couple of minutes later saying that the connection has been re-established. Is it possible to have this only occur if the connection is lost for more than x seconds, so I don’t keep in getting them?

Is it normal for a home internet connection to have these issues? It is a 60/10 VDSL connection which is normally stable as far as I know.

Thanks.

The netdata default storage engine is memory mode = dbengine. With dbengine, disk writes are compressed, happen in batches of large sequential I/O requests that bypass the OS filesystem cache and are throttled so as to minimize interference with the system. Those writes are magnetic media friendly because they are large and sequential, and also NAND Flash friendly because there is minimal write amplification.

If you are not interested in keeping history on disk you can try using the memory exlusive storage engines, such as memory mode = ram.

I will let somebody else answer about the reachability notification.

1 Like

Hey @eggbean welcome to the forums!

Thanks @Markos_Fountoulakis for this little write-up on how our dbengine behaves in sdcards, I am sure it’s super interesting to. a lot of raspberry pi fans and IoT professionals.