claim fails with "ERROR: FAILED TO UPDATE NETDATA : You are running this script as user with uid 0. We recommend to run this script as root (user with uid 0)

Problem/Question

I am very new to netdata, and I am having trouble “claiming” a new node into .cloud. the local agent works fine, and I can see the dashboard and such. I have created a working .cloud account. when I use the .cloud GUI to attempt to connect to my new node (copy and past the script provided by the GUI), the host script fails with "ERROR: FAILED TO UPDATE NETDATA : You are running this script as user with uid 0. We recommend to run this script as root (user with uid 0).

Relevant docs you followed/actions you took to solve the issue

i tried to use the netdata-claim script as suggested by another topic here, but that fails also, but differently, throwing off many script errors

What I expected to happen

i expected the script to run fine. seems like an odd message anyway, as it recommends exactly what it calls out as the issue.

please help

Hello @dvh and welcome in our community. What installation method you used to install Netdata? Could you provide us with your netdata -W buildinfo for the node in question?

thank you for the reply and for the welcome. I originally used your one-line install script on my nodes. I was root at the time I did the install. I did manage to get the netdata-claim script to work after some grief with bash and my PATH. so I have my nodes adopted now, but the copy/paste from the .cloud GUI does not work. I do the copy/paste, then edit the command to instead run the netdata-claim script. I have more nodes I would like to include, so it would be great if it worked as advertised, but I can make this work.

maybe I screwed up by originally installing as root?

-dvh

I was root at the time I did the install.

This is not a problem

I did manage to get the netdata-claim script to work after some grief with bash and my PATH.