Netdata container and disabling cloud connectivity

Problem/Question

Hello all, I’m new to Netdata and I am looking to set it up as a docker container. I would like to run the container without cloud connectivity. Is there an equivalent environment parameter to --disable-cloud for the container version of Netdata?

Hey @tam481,

Welcome to our little community!

In order to run the Netdata Agent without Cloud connectivity, you can start the container and edit the configuration to disable Netdata Cloud.
You can read more about the container and how to edit the configuration in the documentation:

In order to disable Netdata Cloud, you will need to make these changes to the configuration:

Since the container is already built, you can only disable Netdata Cloud at runtime, since the Agent is already built with the ability to use Netdata Cloud.

Out of curiosity (and some product feedback), what’s your use-case and why do you want to disable Netdata Cloud altogether?

Thanks !

Thank you @OdysLam
I am completely new to Netdata. I am looking for a way to monitor my raspberry pi and the docker containers I’m running on it and Netdata looks promising. I like to have local access to my data without any reliance on external cloud services. This is why I don’t have a smart home heating system. I’m still waiting for one that works without “the cloud”

1 Like

Since you are interested about IoT, I would suggest to give a try to Home Assistant. It’s one of the best Open Source projects out there!