Access on localhost but not ip

Ubuntu 18 and fresh install of netdata

So im rather now to all this and I recently installed netdata using the installer script which all seemed to work fine, I have opened the port 19999 with ufw, and if I curl the localhost:19999 it spams all the HTML (im assuming this is the panel) but when i access it in my browser with ip and port 19999 I just get nothing. It says it is listening on every ip so I dont see why it wont connect, i found a GitHub issue (#1203) like this but i followed stuff there and nothing worked. Any help would be great thanks. Im rather new to this so some explanation would be greatly appreciated.

Hi @LostAndDead

If netdata listens on 0.0.0.0

[ilyam@pc ~]$ sudo ss -ntlp | grep netdata | grep 19999
LISTEN 0      4096         0.0.0.0:19999      0.0.0.0:*    users:(("netdata",pid=48757,fd=4))
LISTEN 0      4096            [::]:19999         [::]:*    users:(("netdata",pid=48757,fd=5))

Then it is likely your firewall configuration. Could you recheck it or show the rule?

I recently installed netdata using the installer script

Just in case, did you apply any non default configuration?

root@vps:~# ss -ntlp | grep netdata | grep 19999
LISTEN   0         128                 0.0.0.0:19999            0.0.0.0:*        users:(("netdata",pid=5692,fd=4))
LISTEN   0         128                    [::]:19999               [::]:*        users:(("netdata",pid=5692,fd=5))

And yes im an 99% sure i have the correct firewall rules, ufw allows port 19999

root@vps:~# ufw status | grep 19999
19999                      ALLOW       Anywhere
19999 (v6)                 ALLOW       Anywhere (v6)

And i ran the installer as it goes, i haven’t changing any configuration values.

Yeah, i am not familiar with ufw, but it looks like you have 19999 whitelisted :thinking:

Did you try to disable ufw temporary and see if it helps? So we can identify if that firewall problem or not.