How do I delete a node from the General War Room? On the Nodes tab for " Manage War Room / General", I can add new nodes but I can’t select any of the existing nodes to delete them. I’ve removed the old node from the War Room I had it in. Now I’m stuck trying to remove it from the General War Room.
Hi @dnet , Miguel here, how are you today?
There were some recent changes to how rooms work. As covered by a Netdata PM in Discord:
“General” room has been updated to include all nodes that exist in a space. It now works as a centralised node management directory, which was missing previously.
To preserve previous configuration. A copy of the general war room was created under “general-static”.
Next, we have started working on the ability to soft delete nodes, so that they no longer appear across the account. This is different from the existing function to remove a node from a war room.
The main idea behind this change has been, that we never had a place where admins could go in and view all nodes of a space.
If a node wasn’t added in a room, it could be forgotten.
The other rooms will continue to work as before
Overall, we are currently reviewing permissions, war room visibility etc. But no decision has been made yet.
Please let us know if you have any questions, or whether you’re being affected negatively by this change.
We’ll be happy to help! Have a nice day.
Sorry for the metoo moment, but I need to delete a node from the netdata cloud UI. How do I do that?
If I understand the intent behind the new war room correctly, it is to allow to catch orphan nodes, which sounds good.
As it stands, in dynamic environments where nodes are continually created and deleted, it leads to a general war room full of zombies, which reduces the usability of the new war room.
Assuming the soft delete of nodes is implemented as planed, can I then use it to remove the zombies from the general war room? If yes, is there a plan to allow the removal via the installer (just like the claim)?
Would it be possible to provide an “Orphaned Nodes” war room per default, containing the nodes belonging to no other war room than the general war room?
“General” room has been updated to include all nodes that exist in a space. It now works as a centralised node management directory, which was missing previously. That’s why removal of nodes from General is not allowed. Basically it holds all the nodes in your space.
However, we understand that this has created a room with long lists of unused nodes. Hence, we are already working on the ability to delete nodes, so that they no longer appear across the account.
This should be available very soon, likely by end of this month